Freethought in Maddening Times

Thinking Unenslaved I’ll be joined tonight by Amanda Novotny, president of the Siouxland Freethinkers group, and potentially by another member or two. The discussion with Amanda will involve her “Harry Potter Invocation” at Sioux Falls City Council Meeting from a while back, the resulting award she received and her trip out to Los Angeles, as well her take on the importance of freethought and secular humanistic movements across North America, why they’re important, what they really mean, and the types of impact we hope to have in our local and regional areas.

With Amanda and hopefully with some other callers, we’ll talk about many of those same topics, but also about the intermix we enjoy, especially here in the midwest, with strong membership in freethought groups, from people from religious backgrounds. We are an interesting community in our local group, and to be perfectly honest, there are elements of it that I do not understand. So, I’m hoping for a little bit of brain-stretching enlightenment myself. I know I need to do a better job of being a bit more accepting and understanding of those from religious backgrounds who venture into this freethinking territory while still beholden to religious tenets.

Join us at 8pm Eastern, 7pm Central, 5pm Pacific for the live show, or grab the show later on iTunes or here at unenslaved.com!

Live Show: http://unenslaved.com/live-show and http://mixlr.com/thinking-unenslaved

Peace!

discuss