The War On Christmas Begins

NBC_tree

Tonight, I’ll be joined by Zach for a lively discussion on holiday traditions around the globe….and their histories. This will likely be the first in series of such discussions, and I’m deliberately doing this in preparation for a talk I’m giving to the Siouxland Freethinkers towards the end of December. This “War on Christmas” bullshit that started up in the right-wing media before Christmas crap was even out on the shelves this year in particular, really kind of chaps my hide. Especially given the fact that there is literally nothing…nothing…in the Christmas traditions that is unique to Christianity. In fact, every element of every major Christian holiday is co-opted from some other religion! Every. Single. One.

Which, of course, I find hilarious. It may chap my hide, but it’s also quite a lot of fun to dig into and get people thinking about. I mean, heck, some good little Christian boys and girls are so unfamiliar with their Bibles, they actually think there’s Biblical references behind some of things they do this time of the year!

So, much fun shall be had, and I can easily imagine Zach and myself going the full three hours on this tonight, and barely even getting started. Come join us for what should be a lively and entertaining discussion.

8pm Eastern, 7pm Central, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific time in “Norff ‘Murica”. You can listen live here at the “live show” link above, or over at the broadcast site http://mixlr.com/thinking-unenslaved to participate in the chat discussion as well. Yes, I finally figured out how I can sit on that page without the sound on, lol!

discuss